Richard Childress Racing

Recent News

Dillon Goes for Record Fourth Consecutive Pole

What do Sam Ard, Trevor Bayne, Austin Dillon, Jeff Gordon, Mark Martin and Michael Waltrip have in common?

All six drivers have won three consecutive Pole Awards in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, a record in the series.

Only one of them, however, has an opportunity to break the six-way tie with a fourth consecutive pole this Saturday for the Alliance Truck Parts 250 at Michigan International Speedway.

Dillon, who is fourth in the standings behind leader Regan Smith, arrives in Michigan with a streak of three consecutive poles (Charlotte, Dover, Iowa).

His three poles in 2013 already match Dillon’s career high from a year ago. His first pole in the series came last year at Michigan. He went on to finish the race fifth. Dillon was able to capitalize on his other two poles last season by posting a win in both races at Kentucky.

Dillon’s only other series start at the two-mile track in Brooklyn, Mich., was 39th in 2009. He improved on his starting position by finishing 19th in that race. In 2010, he also captured a pole at the track in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and finished fifth.

Back to top