Richard Childress Racing

Recent News

Richard Childress Receives Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree from UNOH

WELCOME, N.C. (May 16, 2013) – In a ceremony held at Sapona Ridge Country Club in Lexington, NC, legendary NASCAR team owner Richard Childress received an Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree from the University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH) on Wednesday, May 15.

With more than 100 people in attendance, including his wife Judy, daughter Tina Dillon, son-in-law Mike Dillon, and grandsons Austin and Ty Dillon, the 14-time championship race team owner was bestowed the honor by Dr. Jeffrey Jarvis, president of UNOH.

Dr. Jarvis presented the degree based on Childress’ achievements in the high performance/motorsports industry, his commitment to assist in the school’s goal of achieving educational excellence and his lifetime achievements in the field of auto racing.

“Obviously, Dr. Childress is an icon in all of motorsports,” said Steve Farmer, vice president of corporate development for UNOH. “We are recognizing him for his accomplishments on and off the track, what he has done for all of motorsports and the great relationship we have with Dr. Childress and RCR.

“He is very deserving of this honorary degree. This is a relationship we want to see continue for many years. When it comes to people like Richard Childress, he is second to none.”

During the presentation, his many racing achievements, successful business ventures and commitment to various charitable causes were named off. They included his six NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championships, five NASCAR Nationwide Series driver and owner championships and two Camping World Truck Series championships.

His work with the Childress Institute for Pediatric Trauma, the Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation and numerous outdoors conservation causes, were among other accomplishments mentioned. Childress was also recognized for his success with Childress Vineyards, Yadkin River Angus Farm and Sapona Ridge Country Club and his race team, RCR.

“This is a great honor to receive this honorary degree from UNOH,” Childress said. “I would like to thank everyone in racing, the vineyard and CIPT for being part of this, too.

“I can’t thank the people from UNOH enough for all they’ve done with their motorsports programs. They have changed the lives of so many young people’s lives and careers with what they teach at their fine school.

“I have had many great moments in my life, but this one ranks right up there as one of the highest honors I have ever received.”

About UNOH
The University of Northwestern Ohio is an entrepreneurial, not-for-profit, university founded in 1920.  There are five colleges within the university: The College of Applied Technologies, College of Business, College of Occupational Professions, College of Health Professions, and the Graduate College.  UNOH has taught students from all 50 states and 16 foreign countries, and currently has more than 4500 students enrolled from 36 states and 6 foreign countries.  UNOH offers more than 60 different programs of study including Master’s, Baccalaureate, Associate, and Diploma programs.  The University is situated on a 200+ acre campus and is in the midst of a 10-year expansion plan that includes new apartment-style dormitories and a new academic building that will house Health and IT classrooms along with a new library, student learning center and food services. The University of Northwestern Ohio also offers a variety of athletics including Men’s & Women’s Basketball, Men’s & Women’s Tennis, Men’s & Women’s Golf, Women’s Volleyball, Men’s and Women’s Bowling, Men’s Baseball, Men’s Soccer and six Co-Ed Motorsports teams.  The University of Northwestern Ohio has an impact of more than $250 million on the local economy.  Limaland Motorsports Park, which is owned by UNOH, has an additional $15 million impact. 

About Richard Childress Racing:
Richard Childress Racing ( has earned more than 200 victories and 14 championships, including six in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series with the legendary Dale Earnhardt. RCR was the first organization to win championships in the Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Its 2013 Sprint Cup Series lineup includes Paul Menard (No. 27 Menards Chevrolet), Kevin Harvick (No. 29 Budweiser/Jimmy John’s/Rheem Chevrolet) and Jeff Burton (No. 31 Caterpillar/Cheerios Chevrolet). Its Nationwide Series program includes Brian Scott (No. 2 Shore Lodge/Armour Vienna Sausage/Fast Fixin’/Charter/Husky Liners Chevrolet), 2012 Nationwide Series rookie of the year Austin Dillon (No. 3 AdvoCare Chevrolet) and an all-star driver lineup on the No. 33 Menards/Rheem/WESCO/Armour Vienna Sausage/Hunt Brothers Pizza/Fast Fixin’ Chevrolet team. The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series program features 2012 Camping World Truck Series rookie of the year Ty Dillon (No. 3 Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet) and Brendan Gaughan (No. 62 South Point Hotel & Casino Chevrolet).

Back to top