Skip to content

Brandon Jones Wins First Career Pole Award

Brandon Jones will lead the field to green for today’s NASCAR XFINITY Series season-opener at Daytona International Speedway after winning his first career pole award Saturday morning.

The No. 33 Nexteer Chevrolet Camaro set the pace in the first round of single-car qualifying and was fastest again in the final round with a lap time of 48.788 seconds.

Veteran crew chief Nick Harrison, paired with Jones for the 2017 season, won the pole at Daytona International Speedway for the third consecutive season. Harrison was atop the pit box with pole winner Austin Dillon in 2015, Ty Dillon 2016 and now Jones in 2017.

“This is a pretty good way to start off the season,” Jones said. “We knew our car had pretty good speed in single-car runs and knew we’d have a shot at the pole. We executed the plan and now we’ll lead the pack to the green-flag. This is pretty cool.”

RCR’s other XFINITY Series teams fared well in qualifying – first-year driver Daniel Hemric will start fourth, Ty Dillon fifth, Austin Dillon 16th and Brendan Gaughan 18th.

The PowersharesQQQ 300 at Daytona International Speedway will be broadcasted live on Fox Sports 1 beginning at 3 p.m. ET.